My Stained Glass Family

by withchangecomesgrowth

Once upon a time, I closed my eyes and saw my family; a perfect mosaic of color and life. I saw vibrant flashes and soft pastels. Our hearts blended together to create a majestic picture.

Father, I see your heart as Gold. It represents strength, and integrity. All of your children have supernatural strengths and one of them is leadership. You have helped us to understand that, no matter what, people will be watching us. Some wanting to be like us, and some analyzing our every action and trying to find our weaknesses. You have taught me the meaning of strength, and how to harness a raw passion for life. You have taught me the meaning of humility. Every day I learn something new about you. You’ve always called me beautiful, and I’m so thankful for that. I had my days where I was afraid to leave the house because I thought I was ugly, and you got me through that. You have shown me that when a man is on his knees it doesn’t show weakness, it represents strength beyond measure. My dream is that one day, you will be proud of me. I hope you can see that I am becoming the woman God wants me to be.

Mother, I see your heart as Lavender. A well balanced mixture of strength and patience. You’ve taught me that no matter how bad my day is going that happiness is my choice, and nobody can take my fire away. You’ve taught me how to love unconditionally, and see the beauty in life. Through you, I’ve learned how to protect my heart, and treasure my purity. You have taught me the reality of spiritual warfare, and you have given me an axe to sharpen my sword. I have learned to recognize my supernatural gifts, and you have taught me how to refine them so when I step out onto the battle field I won’t leave my back unprotected. You have opened my eyes to the angels in my life, and for that, I thank you.

Rebecca, you are a deep Red. You continue to amaze me with your natural, God given, beauty and grace. Ever since I was little I’ve always wanted to be much like you. When I was younger I used to watch you, in awe, trying to understand how you were able to paint, draw, write, and create in such a way that pulls at people’s emotions. You have the gift of being able to capture the raw beauty of this world, and I hope you never forsake that gift. I’ve watched you transform from the girl you once were, to a rose among the thorns. Becca, I admire you, more than you know…..

Elijah, your heart is royal Blue. You were always my buddy. Growing up, we used to play outside together every day. You taught me how to tie my shoes, you taught me how to climb a tree, and you even taught me how to jump off a house without getting hurt. My fondest memories from my childhood come from you. You showed me the importance of feeling the sun upon my face, and the dirt beneath my feet. You taught me that the most important thing on this earth is freedom, I still believe that today. All our inside jokes, and silly games still flood my memory. Whenever I’m feeling alone, I remember your words “Faith, you and I are alike in many ways. We’ll never “fit in” and people will judge us for everything we do. We may fall often and hard, but when we get up we will stand taller and stronger than we did before….” Brother I adore you…..

Rachel, Orange. The contrast between you and me is like that of an Oreo cookie and its filling. We couldn’t be more different, but neither of us would be complete without the other. You are a friend who truly brings out the best in me. From across the room a simple nod and a wink can send either of us into waves of laughter. People don’t always know what’s going between us (and may not want to) but that only makes it all the better. Nobody can tap into our system and I think that’s what makes it so great. There will always be things about you that nobody knows but me, and there will always be things about me that nobody knows but you. You have brought more laughter into my life than any other person. Whenever I tell my friends about you I have nothing negative to say, I simply tell them that you’re “Weird” and “Amazing”. I remember all the talks we’ve had; I remember coming to you in tears just to have you tell me to “suck it up and move on” sometimes that’s all I needed to hear. You’ve taught me the meaning of strength. Thank you, I love you.

Caleb, forest Green, you are the picture of compassion. I remember the little notes you passed to me in my time of need. I remember reading the words “Hang in there sis” through hot tears, and finding the strength to move ahead. You have such a tender heart and I love that about you. When you were little I used to love playing with your blond curls. I remember thinking you were like an angel. I’m watching you become a strong young man; I love to see you taking care of your baby sister. I know that you will be an amazing father one day. I love you bro.

Joshua, my little tiger. You are Crimson. There’s something truly unique about you. I can see that you will succeed at whatever you do in life. You’re stubborn like me, and nothing will stand between you and your goals. I see your passion burning in everything you do. Much like me and Eli, you may never “fit in” but in the end it’s worth it. Our breed was never called to follow, we were called to lead. I love to watch you when you’re deep in thought, I love the way your brow scrunches up as you concentrate. Let your passion drive you towards your dreams, and nothing can stop you. I see you becoming such a strong man of God. I love you, my little tiger.

Elias, my little prince, you are light Blue. You are the youngest son; you have an anointing like I have never seen before. I can’t exactly put into words what I see in you, but I know you’re going to do great things one day. I see that people will flock to you, wanting guidance and teaching. I see people looking up to you for answers, knowing that you have something they don’t. I want you to let God work in your life, for He has something big in store for you. Elias I want you to know that I’ve learned so much from you already, and at six years old you’ve already changed my life. I love you buddy.

Naomi, Yellow. You’re my little angel. I waited for you for ten years. I find your presence in my life such a comfort; in a world that’s always changing I know that whenever I’m sad I can simply pull you into my arms and know that everything is going to be ok. Sometimes all I need is to be reminded that the world is more than me and my needs. I’ve learned so much from you already. Naomi, much like your older siblings, you have a calling. You will grow to be different from the world, and for you, changing lives will be a hobby, not a job. You really are my little angel. I love you baby.

