When Does it Count?

by withchangecomesgrowth

I wrote this poem one morning while sitting in bed.

Does a prayer only count when said aloud?

Does a prayer only count when your head is bowed?

Does a prayer only count when you’re on your knees…

In the pew of a church on Christmas Eve?

Does a prayer only count by your bed at night?

Does a prayer only count when your life is right?

Does a prayer only count when you use the right words?

Does a prayer even count when you’re broken and hurt?

Does a prayer only count if you’ve been set free?

Does a prayer work better for you, than for me?

So answer my question: Does a prayer only count…

When you’re down on your knees with your weary head bowed?

The answer is no.  A prayer can’t be bound

By the time, or the place, or level of sound

There is a God who loves you; and He sees your heart

He holds your life when you’re falling apart

He says “Come my child; I’ve heard your cry

Be still. Have peace, for you…are mine.”

