Right here. Right now.

by withchangecomesgrowth

 

Proverbs 1:7, 32-33.

“To fear the Lord is the beginning of knowledge,

but fools despise wisdom and discipline.

For the waywardness of the simple will kill them,

and the complacency of fools will destroy them;

but whoever listens to me will live in safety

and be at ease without fear of harm.”

     I just want to remind you all to keep strong and stay close to God as you go out into the world. I know we all regularly face people who drag us down (especially in the workplace, highschool, and college.) Just keep in mind that Jesus is standing right next to you.

     Some days when I leave acc I literally feel like someone took a heavy wet blanket and draped it over my shoulders. Walking the halls I can see emptiness in people’s lives (it’s pretty depressing.) I spend a lot of time reminding myself that God has a plan for me.

     Yesterday in math class I was thinking about my older sister (who recently left for Texas Tech.) We have always been really close and often shared classes at acc. So I was sitting there thinking about how lonely I’ve been since she left and tears were just rolling down my face. When I realized I was crying I told myself “Faith, you gotta get it together. What kind of person would want Jesus if one of the only Christians they know is always crying? It’s the beginning of the semester and you’re creating the person people will know you as.”  So I prayed that God give me the strength to put on a smile and push through the rest of the day (naturally, He did.)

     Later I was on the bus and this man started talking to me, we started talking politics and he was talking about the war and I mentioned that my father had just returned from a year in Iraq. I shared a cool testimony about how God had guided my dad out of the path of a bullet that would have killed him. I ended with “I don’t know where you stand, but I believe strongly in God and I know He was taking care of my dad in Iraq.” This led to series of questions from the man about my faith and my ideas about God. A half an hour later we were sitting in the next station STILL talking. I told him about how a lot of young Christians spend their time waiting for God to show them His plan. I explained that many of my peers were still “waiting” to fulfill their purpose, when they don’t realize that we ARE God’s plan. Right here. Right now. I told him that we were called to be walking, breathing, testaments of God’s grace. When it was time for him to get ready for the train to come, he asked me when I was leaving for the mission field and where I would be stationed. I smiled and said “I’m not sure God has called me to be a missionary. I still don’t know where I’m going in life.” he responded,

“Well, you’re clearly passionate about your love for Jesus. I think you should look into it.”

Then we said goodbye and he headed to the train track. I was left sitting in a daze thinking about what has just occurred. It isn’t abnormal for things like that to happen to me. I’ve prayed with complete strangers at bus stations, and little girls on the side of the road, but it still hits me every time. The only thing I knew about this man was his name…Don. I didn’t know his religion (for all I know he could have been atheist or agnostic.) I didn’t know his political beliefs. He seemed careful to not share anything with me about his beliefs. He only asked me questions about God and sat there nodding.

     It’s amazing how God can take a bad day and turn it around. Not because I felt like I had done a good deed, (I merely answered questions, and shared some cool “But God” stories,) simply because I was talking about my best friend. Whether I’m praying for someone, or sharing the love of Jesus, or telling someone the story of Christ for the first time….I always enjoy myself. I don’t feel good inside because I did something right. It isn’t like that good feeling that comes from working in a soup kitchen, or giving clothes to the needy. It isn’t charity. It’s that good feeling that comes from talking about the One I love the most. So when you’re feeling weighed down by the world, always remember…we never know what God has waiting around the next corner. We are His plan. Right here. Right now.

