Moody Snakes

by withchangecomesgrowth

Friday morning I discovered that my timid little lady snake was laying eggs. I didn’t even know she was gravid (carrying). She has a birth defect so I wasn’t sure if she was even fertile. Needless to say, I was shocked when I opened the tank and saw an egg nuzzled in her coils. Even more surprising – the fact that she was laying while there were  two other adult snakes in the enclosure as well. It’s considered rare when a snake starts to lay while her mate is still in the tank, much less her mate AND another female. (I’ve never even heard of that happening)
To add to the weirdness, the girls were actually coiled up together. They were snuggled under the flower pot they normally sleep in.

My first reaction was to remove the other snakes so Lydia could lay her eggs in peace. I also figured it would be wise to avoid the possibility of anybody getting an appetite for fresh eggs. So I moved Demetrius and Simone to the spare tank.

Here’s where it gets weird.

Lydia finally had the whole tank to herself…but instead of laying her eggs, she curled up in the corner to pout. She stopped pushing and just sat there. For the next 24 hours she barely moved – only to drink. So yesterday morning, I sat there trying to figure out what to do. I didn’t want her to terminate the natural process and damage the eggs by refusing to lay. I figured a weird situation might need a weird solution. I thought that maybe, just MAYBE, Lydia was throwing a tantrum because we took away her closest buddy. As crazy as it seemed, maybe she needed moral support or something (don’t laugh, I was desperate). So I put Simone back in the tank and left it alone.

Since I put Simone back in the tank, Lydia has laid two more eggs. I don’t know to explain this. Snakes don’t have feelings. Snakes don’t have conscious thoughts. Snakes are supposed to just be simple reptiles that are driven by instinct. Just goes to show that I really do have moody snakes…

Here’s a photo of Simone “guarding” Lydia

image

